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 OVRS 
Office of Vital Records and Statistics 

 

 Regional Training Meeting 
Afternoon Session 

 
 
 

LHD    Funeral Homes    Med Staff 

     WELCOME 
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Fetal Death 
  Updates 

I 

Marie Aschliman - OVRS 
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Utah Code 
Title 26  Utah Health Code 
Chapter 2 Utah Vital Statistics Act 
Section 2 Definitions 
 

26-2-2. Definitions.  
 (4) "Dead fetus" means a product of human 
conception, other than those circumstances 
described in Subsection 76-7-301(1):  
 

 (a) of [20 weeks' gestation or more, calculated 
from the date the last normal  menstrual 
period began to the date of delivery; and 
 

(b) that was not born alive. 

 

Early Term Stillbirth 
 

Policy: 
An Early Term Stillbirth Certificate may be 
issued to parents upon request, if the 
gestation is of at least 16 weeks gestation 
but less than 20 weeks gestation, 
calculated from the day on which the 
mother’s last normal menstrual period 
began to the date of delivery. 

http://health.utah.gov/index.html


  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Meet the 
    OVRS Director 

Rich Oborn – OVRS Director 
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       Rich Oborn… 
 

                                             Prior to joining OVRS in February 2015,     
                       Rich was Bureau Manager at the Utah    
                       Department of Commerce, Division of  
                       Occupational and Professional                         
                       Licensing (DOPL).  
 

   At DOPL, he managed licensing and regulation of the  
   pharmacy, social work, mental health, and counseling  
   professions for the State of Utah.  
 

   Rich has a bachelor’s degree in political science and a   
   master’s degree in public administration from the  
   University of Utah.  
 

   He is the father of five children and enjoys trail running,  
   mountain biking, and spending time with his wife and  
   family.  
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EDEN Rewrite 
  Project 

Trinna Burk – DTS 
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Dashboards 

Communication for: 

• Funeral Homes 

• Local Health Departments 

• Doctors 

Electronic Notifications 

Order Certificates 

Multi Platform Compatible 

Mobile 

Ease of Use 

EDEN 
Coming Late 2016 



Local Health Department Dashboard 



Local Health Department Dashboard 

Record Status Definitions:   

• H= Hold 
• ! = PAST 5 DAYS 

• C = awaiting Certifier 

• F = awaiting Funeral Director  

• P = Pending Certification 

• D = Drop to Paper 

• R = Registered 

• A = Amended 



Local Health Department Dashboard 

Closer View of LHD Work Queue Defaults: 

• My Records in Process 
• Ready to Register 
• Awaiting Funeral Director  
• Awaiting Certification 
• Updated “Pending Cause of Death” 
• Hold for OME Review 
• Overdue Funeral Home 
• Overdue Certifier 
• Recently Registered Records 



Funeral Home Dashboard 

Closer View of Funeral Home Work Queue Defaults: 

• My Records in Process 
• Awaiting Certification 
• Awaiting Funeral Director  
• Overdue Funeral Director 
• Overdue Certification 
• SSA Not Verified 
• Hold for OME Review 
• Pending Cause of Death 
• Updated “Pending Cause of Death” 
• Recently Registered Records 
• Unassigned Records 



EDEN Screens Designed for Mobile Devices 



    
 

Eden Compatibility      

If you have purchased a new computer with 
Windows 10 or have upgraded your operating 
system to Windows 10… Edge will be set as your  
internet browser.  You will need to add a 
shortcut onto your desktop for Internet Explorer 
to run Eden.    

http://health.utah.gov/index.html
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Eden Compatibility – Continued       

 
 You’ve opened EDEN in a browser other than Internet Explorer 

 
 Your computer may have auto updated your default browser to 

something other than Internet Explorer 
 

If you’ve receive the error message below when attempting to log 
into EDEN, one of the following scenarios may be the cause. 

http://health.utah.gov/index.html
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Requirements to Run EDEN 
 

Windows based computers only 
(EDEN is not compatible with Mac computers)  
 

Microsoft Internet Explorer version 10 or 11  
  

Just a reminder:  The new version of EDEN will be  
multi platform and browser compatible 

Eden Compatibility – Continued     
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Death 
  Certificate 
 Entitlement 

Office of Vital Records 
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Death Certificate Entitlement 
Utah Code 
Title 26  Utah Health Code 
Chapter 2 Utah Vital Statistics Act 
Section 22 Inspection of Vital Records 
  
26-2-22.   Inspection of vital records. 
     (1) (a) The vital records shall be open to inspection, but only in compliance with the provisions of this chapter, department rules, 
and Section 78B-6-144. 
     (b) It is unlawful for any state or local officer or employee to disclose data contained in vital records contrary to this chapter or 
department rule. 
     (c) A custodian of vital records may permit inspection of a vital record or issue a certified copy of a record or a part of a record 
when the custodian is satisfied that the applicant has demonstrated a direct, tangible, and legitimate interest. 
     (2) A direct, tangible, and legitimate interest in a vital record is present only if: 
     (a) the request is from: 
     (i) the subject; 
     (ii) a member of the subject's immediate family; 
     (iii) the guardian of the subject; 
     (iv) a designated legal representative of the subject; or 
     (v) a person, including a child-placing agency as defined in Section 78B-6-103, with whom a child has been placed pending 
finalization of an adoption of the child; 
     (b) the request involves a personal or property right of the subject of the record; 
     (c) the request is for official purposes of a public health authority or a state, local, or federal governmental agency; 
     (d) the request is for a statistical or medical research program and prior consent has been obtained from the state registrar; or 
     (e) the request is a certified copy of an order of a court of record specifying the record to be examined or copied. 
     (3) For purposes of Subsection (2): 
     (a) "immediate family member" means a spouse, child, parent, sibling, grandparent, or grandchild; 
     (b) a designated legal representative means an attorney, physician, funeral service director, genealogist, or other agent of the 
subject or the subject's immediate family who has been delegated the authority to access vital records; 
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NEW Death Certificate Entitlement Policy     
Effective Immediately 
 

If an informant is a member of the deceased immediate 
family, they are entitled to copies of the death certificate. 
 

If the informant is NOT a member of the deceased 
immediate family, and the funeral home has determined 
that the informant has a direct, tangible and legitimate 
interest, they may also be entitled to copies of the death 
certificate. 
 

The funeral home may make this determination with or 
without documentation. 
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NEW Death Certificate Entitlement continued…. 
 

If a funeral home decides to request 
documentation from their client, they can refer to 
the list of documents that have been acceptable in 
the past as proof of legitimate need. 
  

http://health.utah.gov/index.html


 
NEW Death Certificate Entitlement continued… 
 

If an informant orders copies of a death certificate 
directly from a vital records office, they are NOT 
entitled to the copies unless the informant 
documents a direct, tangible and legitimate 
interest.  An informant should demonstrate their 
interest by submitting one or more of the 
acceptable documents.  
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Families can now order death certificate online on the 
SILVER website:  https://secure.utah.gov/vitalrecords 

(Secure Internet Link for Vital Events Records)  

https://secure.utah.gov/vitalrecords
https://secure.utah.gov/vitalrecords
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Same Sex Marriage 

Lorem ipsum  

In libris graecis appetere mea. 

At vim odio lorem omnes, pri 

  

In libris graecis appetere mea. 

At vim odio lorem omnes, pri 

id iuvaret partiendo. Vivendo 

Landmark Supreme Court Decision 

Same-Sex Marriage Legal In All 50 States 

June 26, 2015 

http://health.utah.gov/index.html
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Same Sex Marriage 

Changes to death record processing… 
 

MARTIAL STATUS – Entry stays the same.  
 
Indicate the marital status of the deceased at the time of death. 
 
 
     Never Married     Married     Widowed     Divorced 
 

     Married, but Separated     Unknown 
 
 
 
 

 

http://health.utah.gov/index.html
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SPOUSE INFORMATION 
 

Changed to: 
 
SPOUSE’S NAME (Name Prior to First Marriage) 
The name of the spouse should be entered in this item.  
 
If the decedent was divorced, or never married, this item should be left blank. 
 
In the event that both spouses are killed in the same accident, each is to be listed as married, and 
the name of the spouse should be entered with (Deceased) in parentheses after the last name. 
 
If the decedent was “Widowed” and the family would like to list the deceased spouse, enter the 
name of the spouse with (Deceased) in parentheses after the last name. 

 
. 
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PARENT INFORMATION 
 

Parent Labels Have Changed To: 
 
PARENT OR FATHER’S NAME (Name Prior to First Marriage) 
Enter the fist, middle, and last name of the parent or father of the decedent. 
 

PARENT OR MOTHER’S NAME (Name Prior to First Marriage) 
Enter the fist, middle, and last name of the parent or mother of the decedent. 
 



New EDEN Screens  -  Parent Information – Parent 
Labels Can Be Defined. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 

 
     

PARENT INFORMATION  --  FYI 
 
 

If the Informant chooses not to provide Parent information, enter “Not” in the parent’s 
First Name field and “Listed” in the parent’s Last Name Field.   
 
“Unknown” in the Parent Information field is not a recommended entry unless parent 
information is actually unknown. 
 



  
 
 

OVRS Death 
  Registration 
 
  Updates 

Office of Vital Records 
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Total Utah Deaths from 1/1/15 - 9/1/15: 11861 

DC Completed through Edenmd:  7169 

DC Completed through Classic EDEN:  156 

DC Completed through UMED/OME:  1833 

DC Dropped to Paper:  2148 
DC Completed through Intermountain:  555 
 

Total % of Records Processed Electronically: 

82% 

2015 death record Counts 

http://health.utah.gov/index.html
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Intermountain Interface 

Intermountain Interface Death Record Processing 
 

 A death record must be started in EDEN for the IHC merge/interface to 

take place. 
 

How to view the “IHC Death Matching Table” in EDEN.  
 

The “Death Matching Table” can be accessed from the “Certifier 

Information” screen in EDEN.  You will also receive a message prompt 

regarding the “Death Matching” on the first save of  the death record.  
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Intermountain Interface 
 

Death Matching Table Example 
 

 

 

 

There are 2 records in the table 

Name of Deceased Date/Time Record Created Date of Death Date of  Birth Certifier 

BETTY XTEST 08/24/2015  3:34 pm 08/23/2015 07/17/1948 BONES, RUSTY 

GEORGE XTEST 08/25/2015 08/25/2015 06/10/1958 BONES, RUSTY 

The “Death Record Matching Cycle” rotates every twenty minutes looking for an EDEN 
record to complete the merge.  
 

If your decedents name appears on the death matching table “DO NOT” call the 
physician… his/her portion of the death record has been completed.  
 

If your death record does not merge within that twenty minute time cycle, please call 
one of the EDEN support team members listed below for assistance. 

 

Leisa Finch – (801) 538-9326  Anne Hope–Ernst (801) 538-6364  
 Charles Bench – (801) 538-6264 

http://health.utah.gov/index.html


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Death 
  Registration 
 Permits 

Ann Hope–Ernst – Permit Specialist 
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Death Registration Permits 
 

 Cremation/Burial Transit Permits  
If your client is in need of a transit permit and the death was prior to 2009 
and/or was not a cremation or removal from state, then please contact 
your local vital records or the state office to create a burial transit permit 
for you.  The permits through Eden should only be printed if the OME has 
cleared the death certificate. 
 

 Burial Transit Permits  
Stillbirths under 20 weeks gestation do not require a transit permit.  A valid 
stillbirth certificate will not be filed therefore local and state offices will not 
create a transit permit for a stillbirth under 20 weeks.  If a form is required 
for disposition please request a release form from the hospital.  Step by 
step instructions on how to complete a burial transit permit are now in the 
handbook.  When you log in to Eden go to the “Utilities” box and click on 
“Death Section Handbook”. 

http://health.utah.gov/index.html


 
Death Registration Permits continued… 
 

 Disinterment Permits 
When creating a disinterment permit you need to enter the information 
exactly as is stated on the death certificate.  If the death occurred out of 
state then a certified copy of the death certificate is required before 
creating a disinterment permit.  A disinterment permit is required for all 
remains being disinterred from the ground or vault.  This includes removing 
remains to dig a plot deeper or remains buried in the wrong plot.  The only 
exception is if the plot is being opened to add another casket or cremains 
and the original remains WILL NOT be removed from the plot.  Step by step 
instructions to create a disinterment permit are in the handbook located in 
the “Utilities” box in Eden.  If you have questions or have a strange 
situation please contact the state office. 
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Death Registration Permits continued… 
 

  Permit Fees 
     Cremation/Removal Burial Transit Permit - $52.00 
    Burial Transit Permit - $7.00 
    Disinterment Permit - $25.00 

 

  Indigent Cases 
If you are handling an indigent case and you want the $45.00 OME fee 
waived you will need to contact Kristy Hawkes at the OME’s office at 
kristyhawkes@utah.gov.  If Kristy agrees to waive the fee she will then 
notify the state office of the waiver and your facility will not be charged. 

 
 

mailto:kristyhawkes@utah.gov
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Death Registration Permits FAQ: 
 

1. Do disinterment permits and burial    
transit permits expire? 
Disinterment permits will expire 1 year after registration by the local or 
state office.  Date of disposition can be listed as a timeline. 
Example: 11/2/15 to 11/2/16. 
 

Burial transit permits only expire If the place of disposition is listed as 
anything other than “Cremains Released to Family” in box 15. 
 

2. When do I need a disinterment permit? 
You need a disinterment permit anytime you are removing 
remains/cremains from a plot or vault.  This includes removing remains to 
dig a plot deeper to add remains and re-inter the original remains.  If the 
remains will be moved to another cemetery then a burial transit permit is 
also required. 
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Death Registration Permits FAQ: 
 

 3. Do I need a transit permit for a   
 stillbirth under 20 weeks gestation? 
No you do not.  If the parents want to do transportation they will need a 
release form from the hospital. 

 

4. Do I need to file a death certificate for 
a stillbirth? 
No.  The hospital will create the certificate.  If the baby lived briefly then 
you would file a death certificate. 

http://health.utah.gov/index.html


      
     
 
 
 
 
 
 
     

 
Monthly Reports of Death 
 

No later than the tenth day of each month, every Utah 
sexton, funeral home, hospital, nursing home or other 
institution must send a monthly report of death to the 
Local Registrars Office in the jurisdiction of where the 
death occurred. 
 

Local Registrars Offices must use these monthly reports 
to confirm all deaths in their jurisdictions have been 
reported and a completed and registered death 
certificate has been filed. 
 

These reports should be kept with your month end 
reports for future audits. 

http://health.utah.gov/index.html


 
Monthly Reports of Death 
Cemetery Reports 
 

Utah Code 
Title 26    Utah Health Code 
Chapter 2    Utah Vital Statistics Act 
Section 18    Record of Interments  --  Information filed with local registrar 
 
26-2-18.   Interments -- Duties of sexton or person in charge -- Record of interments -- Information filed with local registrar. 
            (1) (a) A sexton or person in charge of any premises in which interments are made may not inter or permit the interment of any 
dead body or dead fetus unless the interment is made by a funeral service director or by a person holding a burial-transit permit. 
            (b) The right and duty to control the disposition of a deceased person shall be governed by Sections 58-9-601 through 58-9-604. 
            (2) (a) The sexton or the person in charge of any premises where interments are made shall keep a record of all interments 
made in the premises under his charge, stating the name of the decedent, place of death, date of burial, and name and address of the 
funeral service director or other person making the interment. 
            (b) The record described in this Subsection (2) shall be open to public inspection. 
            (c) A city or county clerk may, at the clerk's option, maintain the interment records described in this Subsection (2) on behalf of 
the sexton or person in charge of any premises in which interments are made. 
            (3) (a) Not later than the tenth day of each month, the sexton, person in charge of the premises, or city or county clerk who 
maintains the interment records shall send to the local registrar and the department a list of all interments made in the premises 
during the preceding month. 
            (b) The list described in Subsection (3)(a) shall be in the form prescribed by the state registrar. 
 
Amended by Chapter 56, 2006 General Session 
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Monthly Reports of Death 
Nursing Home and Hospital Reports 
 

Utah Code 
Title 26    Utah Health Code 
Chapter 2    Utah Vital Statistics Act 
Section 23    Records required to be kept by health care institutions -- Information filed with local registrar and department. 
             
26-2-23.   Records required to be kept by health care institutions -- Information filed with local registrar and department. 
            (1) (a) All administrators or other persons in charge of hospitals, nursing homes, or other institutions, public or private, to which 
persons resort for treatment of diseases, confinements, or are committed by law, shall record all the personal and statistical 
information about patients of their institutions as required in certificates prescribed by this chapter. 
            (b) The information described in Subsection (1)(a) shall: 
            (i) be recorded for collection at the time of admission of a patient; 
            (ii) be obtained from the patient, if possible; and 
            (iii) if the information cannot be obtained from the patient, the information shall be secured in as complete a manner as 
possible from other persons acquainted with the facts. 
            (2) (a) When a dead body or dead fetus is released or disposed of by an institution, the person in charge of the institution shall 
keep a record showing: 
            (i) the name of the deceased; 
            (ii) the date of death of the deceased; 
            (iii) the name and address of the person to whom the dead body or dead fetus is released; and 
            (iv) the date that the dead body or dead fetus is removed from the institution. 
            (b) If final disposal is by the institution, the date, place, manner of disposition, and the name of the person authorizing 
disposition shall be recorded by the person in charge of the institution. 
            (3) Not later than the tenth day of each month, the administrator of each institution shall cause to be sent to the local 
registrar and the department a list of all births, deaths, fetal deaths, and induced abortions occurring in the institution during the 
preceding month. The list shall be in the form prescribed by the state registrar. 

      
     
 
 
 
 
 
 
     



 
Monthly Reports of Death 
Funeral Home Report   --  Since the roll out of EDEN in 2006, Funeral Homes are not required to submit a 

monthly report of death to the local registrar’s office.  The local registrar’s office is responsible for printing out a 
monthly report of death through EDEN for all deaths that occured in their jurisdiction. 
 

Utah Code 
Title 26    Utah Health Code 
Chapter 2    Utah Vital Statistics Act 
Section 16    Duties of a custodial funeral service director  -- Information filed with local registrar 
             
26-2-16.   Certificate of death -- Duties of a custodial funeral service director, an agent of a funeral service director, or a dispositioner 
-- Medical certification -- Records of funeral service director or dispositioner -- Information filed with local registrar -- Unlawful 
signing of certificate of death. 
            (1) The custodial funeral service director or, if a funeral service director is not retained, a dispositioner shall sign the certificate 
of death prior to any disposition of a dead body or dead fetus. 
            (2) The custodial funeral service director, an agent of the custodial funeral service director, or, if a funeral service director is not 
retained, a dispositioner shall: 
            (a) obtain personal and statistical information regarding the decedent from the available persons best qualified to provide the 
information; 
            (b) present the certificate of death to the attending health care professional, if any, or to the medical examiner who shall certify 
the cause of death and other information required on the certificate of death; 
            (c) provide the address of the custodial funeral service director or, if a funeral service director is not retained, a dispositioner; 
            (d) certify the date and place of burial; and 
            (e) file the certificate of death with the state or local registrar. 
            (3) A funeral service director, dispositioner, embalmer, or other person who removes a dead body or dead fetus from the place 
of death or transports or is in charge of final disposal of a dead body or dead fetus, shall keep a record identifying the dead body or 
dead fetus, and containing information pertaining to receipt, removal, and delivery of the dead body or dead fetus as prescribed by 
department rule. 
            (4) (a) Not later than the tenth day of each month, every licensed funeral service establishment shall send to the local 
registrar and the department a list of the information required in Subsection (3) for each casket furnished and for funerals 
performed when no casket was furnished, during the preceding month.          
 
 

      
     
 
 
 
 
 
 
     



“The Wall” 
(Of Shame) 

Leisa Finch – Eden Coordinator 
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Certifier License # 
Upon review  --  Certifier is an APRN that processed a 
hard copy of the death record.   
APRN’s must be completed Death Records electronically. 
 

http://health.utah.gov/index.html


 
Certifier License # 
Upon review  --  Death Record was processed through 
The IHC Interface.  EMR allowed License # override.  
LHD or Funeral should have caught error on review of 
death record  

http://health.utah.gov/index.html


      
     
 
 
 
 
 
 
     

 
Death Record was Registered with COD abbreviated. 
Abbreviated COD are considered Ill defined and require 
additional query for COD coding with NCHS. 

http://health.utah.gov/index.html


      
     
 
 
 
 
 
 
     

 
Death Record was Registered 
Birth State is not in the United States?  Only Canadian 
Provinces and State in the United States are listed on the 
State table. 
 
Birth State was overridden by an outside software system 
used by the Funeral Home to process death records. 
 
These outside software systems will not be allowed to 
process death records when the new version of EDEN rolls 
out late 2016 
   

http://health.utah.gov/index.html


      
     
 
 
 
 
 
 
     

 
Informant is listed as “Self” 
If the decedent has a pre-needs arrangement with  
funeral home, and decedent has no designated rep… 
Funeral Home staff should be listed as informant 

http://health.utah.gov/index.html


      
     
 
 
 
 
 
 
     

 
COD noted as an Overdose 
Record should have been referred to the OME for review  

http://health.utah.gov/index.html


Funeral Home 
  Timeliness  
 Awards 

WE would like to thank you for your efforts in completing 
and filing death records in a timely manner.  

 
This truly demonstrate the high standard of commitment 
and dedication you have to your profession, the families 
you serve, and the Office of Vital Records & Statistics 

Leisa Finch – Eden Coordinator 

http://health.utah.gov/index.html
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Funeral Home Timeliness Awards – 75% or Higher 
Alternative Society of Utah Mortuary 
Anderson Funeral Home 
Ashley Valley Funeral Home 
Aspen Funeral Services 
Cache Valley Mortuary 
Cannon Mortuary 
Cremation Center of Southern Utah 
Deseret Memorial Mortuary 
Didericksen Memorial 
Fausett Mortuary 
Gillies Funeral Home 
Goff Mortuary 
Heritage Funeral Home 
Holbrook Funeral Chapel 
Hullinger Mortuary 
Independent Professional Services 
Jenkins-Soffe Mortuary – Murray 
Jenkins-Soffe Mortuary – South Valley 
Lake Hill Memorial Mortuary 
Lakeview Memorial Mortuary 
Larkin Cremation Society 
Leavitts Mortuary 
Legacy Funerals & Cremations 
Lindquist Mortuary – Bountiful 
Lindquist Mortuary – Kaysville 
Lindquist Mortuary – Layton 
Lindquist Mortuary – Roy 
Magleby Mortuary 
McDougal Funeral Home 
McMillan Mortuary 
Mitchell Funeral Home 

Mosdell Mortuary 
Myers Mortuary – Layton 
Myers Mortuary - Roy 
Nelson Funeral Home 
Nyman Funeral Home 
Olpin Hoopes Funeral Home 
Olpin Stevens Funeral Home 
Peel Funeral Home 
Prost Family Funerals and Cremations 
Rasmussen Funeral Home 
Rasmussen Mortuary 
Rudd Funeral Home 
Russon Brothers Mortuary 
Russon Brothers – Farmington 
SereniCare 
SereniCare Funeral Home – St George 
SereniCare Providence 
Serenity Funeral Home – St George 
Southern Utah Mortuary – Beaver 
Southern  Utah Mortuary – Cedar City 
Spanish Valley Mortuary 
Springer Turner Funeral Home 
Starks Funeral Parlor 
Tate Mortuary 
Thomson-Blackburn Vernal Mortuary 
University of Utah Body Donor Program 
Utah Valley Mortuary 
Walker Family Mortuary –Payson 
Warenski Funeral Home 



 
Funeral Home Timeliness Report Card 

Total Utah Deaths 
for 2014:  

17270 
 

 

 

Total Number of Dispositions Prior to DC Registration:   3235 
 

Average # of Dispositions Prior to DC Registration:   19% 
 

Average # of Days Disposition was Prior to DC Registration:   4 
Days  

*GT: Greater Than 



OVRS Handbook 

  2015 OVRS Regional Training 

Office of Vital Records 

http://health.utah.gov/index.html
http://health.utah.gov/index.html


The Death Section of the OVRS Handbook has been updated and 
can be located under the Utilities Menu in Eden 

Office of Vital Records 
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Thank You! 

Office of Vital Records 
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